top of page
Exploring Nature

Natura 2000


Natura 2000 is a European network of important ecological sites covering over 18% of the EU’s land area and more than 6% of its marine territory. It comprises lands designated by Member States as Special Areas of Conservation (SAC) under the EU Habitats Directive and Special Protection Areas (SPA) under the EU Birds Directive. The aim of the network is to ensure the long-term survival of Europe’s most valuable and threatened species and habitats, to protect them for future generations. Lough Carra forms part of the Lough Carra/Mask Complex SAC, and the Lough Carra SPA.

Find out more...

bottom of page